File No.I-15011/3/2013-IPS-I Government of India/Bharat Sarkar Ministry of Home Affairs/Grih Mantralaya North Block, New Delhi – 110 001

New Delhi, the 18th April, 2013

<u>ORDER</u>

In reference to State Government's letter no. 819/XX-1/2013-2(01)2001 TC dated 22.03.2013 and the PHQ, Uttarakhand's letter No. DG-1-3-2003(1) dated 22.09.2012, it is clarified that as per the order dated 01.02.2010 of the Hon'ble High Court in CWP No. 15798 (filed by Shri Parveen Kumar) as upheld by the Hon'ble Supreme Court, wherever meetings of the Selection Committee in respect of any All India Service have not been held, the same will be held in accordance with the interpretation of Regulations given by Hon'ble High Court and confirmed by Hon'ble Supreme Court. Accordingly, the methodology for nomenclature of Select Lists for appointment by promotion of officers from State Service to the All India Service has changed. Before this case, the Select List comprised of vacancies that occurred in the year immediately before the year of the Select List. However, after the Parveen Kumar's case, the Select Lists were to be styled coinciding with the year of the vacancies, consequently, leading into change in the cut off date of eligibility.

- 2. Accordingly, subsequent amendments were to be made in the Seniority Regulations as well which were notified by the Department of Personnel & Training on 18.04.2012, inorder to offset any unintended benefits in terms of seniority of the officers who get appointed from the Select Lists prepared after the case of Parveen Kumar. Further, in consultation with the Department of Personnel & Training, it has been made clear that the amended regulations are applicable on all the Select Lists prepared in accordance with the judgment in the Parveen Kumar's case.
- 3. As the Select Lists 2010 and 2011 herein were prepared in accordance with the aforesaid judgment, the seniority/year of allotment of the (6+1) total 7 officers appointed by promotion to the Uttarakhand Cadre of Indian Police Service from the Select Lists of the years 2010 and 2011 respectively vide this Ministry's notifications no I-14011/28/2011-IPS.I (II) dated 05.06.2012 and no. I14011/13/2012-IPS.I (II) dated

Contd...

31.01.2013 has been computed under Rule 3 (3)(ii) of the IPS (Regulation of Seniority), Rules 1988 as amended on 18.04.2012 and is as shown in column no. 7 of the table, which follows:

SI. No.	Name of the officer(S/Shri)	Year of the Select List on the basis of which appointed to IPS	Date from which holding rank not below that of Dy. SP or Equivalent	Completed year of service rendered in the rank not below that of Dy. SP or equivalent till 31st day of December of the year for which the SCM was held to prepare the select list on the basis of which the said officer was appointed to IPS(Fraction, if any, are to be ignored)	Total weightage in years in terms of the IPS (Regulation of Seniority) Rules, 1988 as amended vide notification No. 14014/54/96-AIS (I) dated 31.12.97, 14014/14/2000-AIS(I) dated 30.08.2005 & 14014/4/2011- AIS(I)-B dated 18.04.2012	Year of allotment
1	2	3	4	5	6	7
1	Ajay Joshi	2010	03.06.1991	19 years	5 years	2005
2	Jagat Ram Joshi	2010	06.03.1993	17 years	4 years	2006
3	Karan Singh Nagniyal	2010	22.01.1994	16 years	4 years	2006
4	Narayan Singh	2010	16.04.1995	15 years	4 years	2006
5	Napalchyal Sharma	2010	26.02.1006	14 voore	2 voore	2007
	Roshan Lal Sharma		26.02.1996	14 years	3 years	
6	Ashok Kumar Bhatt	2010	14.07.1997	13 years	3 years	2007
7	Yogendra Singh Rawat	2011	14.07.1997	13 years	3 years	2008

- 4. As per Rule 4 of the IPS (Regulation of Seniority) Rules, 1988, placement of the aforesaid officers in the Civil List of Indian Police Service will be as follows:
 - (i) Shri Ajay Joshi shall be placed below Smt. Bimla Gujyal (SPS:2005), so far the junior most promotee IPS officer of 2005 batch of Uttarakhand Cadre and above Shri Anant Shankar Takwale (RR:2006), the senior-most direct recruit IPS officer of 2006 batch of Uttarakhand Cadre.
 - (ii) Shri Jagat Ram Joshi, Shri Karan Singh Nagniyal and Shri Narayan Singh Napalchyal shall be placed en-block below Miss Sweety Agarwal (RR:2006), so far the junior-most direct recruit IPS officer of 2006 batch of Uttarakhand Cadre and above Shri Janmejaya Prabhakar Kailash (RR:2007), the senior-most direct recruit IPS officer of 2007 batch of Uttarakhand Cadre.

Contd...

- (iii) Shri Roshan Lal Sharma and Shri Ashok Kumar Bhatt shall be placed en-block below Shri Sunil Kumar Meena (RR:2007), so far the junior-most direct recruit IPS officer of 2007 batch of Uttarakhand Cadre and above Smt. P. Renukadevi (RR:2008), the senior-most direct recruit IPS officer of 2008 batch of Uttarakhand Cadre.
- (iv) Shri Yogendra Singh Rawat shall be placed below Shri Barinderjit Singh (RR:2008), so far the junior-most direct recruit IPS officer of 2008 batch of Uttarakhand Cadre and above Shri Kundan Kumar (RR:2009), the only direct recruit IPS officer of 2009 batch of Uttarakhand Cadre.
- 5. The concerned officers may kindly be informed accordingly.

Sd/-(Prashant Nikam) Director (Police) Tel. 2309 3256

Copy to:-

- 1. The Chief Secretary, Government of Uttarakhand, <u>DEHRADUN</u>. (Kind Attn. Shri J. P. Joshi, Joint Secretary, Home Deptt.) with 7 spare copies for the concerned officers.
- 2. The Accountant General, Uttarakhand, **DEHRADUN**.
- 3. Director General of Police, Uttarakhand, **DEHRADUN**.
- 4. IPS-II /IPS-III /IPS-IV/ ACR Cell/ Seniority Seat/ Civil List Seat.
- 5. SO(IT) for uploading this order on the website of MHA.

Sd/-

(Prashant Nikam) Director (Police)